Parenting

My days usually start around 5:30am and I am not home until about 6:30pm. So between work and getting my kids to where they need to be, I barely have a second to myself and my free time I reserve for my children.

Today I went to pick up my 7-year-old from her after school program. Now typically I receive compliments and praises about my very petite and outgoing little girl; today was not one of those days. Today I was told my little girl spat on another little girl and was disrespectful to the after school volunteers. So many emotions ran through me. I kept telling the teacher sorry and as usual my little drama queen cried. She knew I was disappointed in her. Now I have seen some parents just brush off the situation but not I. As a working mom, I feel I have to show my daughter that I mean business. I always try to tell her school is a very big stepping stone in life. I am in no way shape or form offended if an adult corrects my daughters bad behavior and she knows this. Nonetheless, I told her she was to write an apology letter to the little girl she spat on and the teachers she disrespected. I always tell her respect is earned and not demanded. This type of behavior is not normal for her and although she is only 7 years old and kids will do crazier things as they get older, I hope she just gets better.

This was just my working mami rant of the day……

Leave a Reply

